Tutoring Services2020-03-23T15:53:54+00:00

Tutoring Services

The Academic Resource Center offers a number of support programs, including peer tutoring. Peer Assisted Learning (PAL) sessions are held in the ARC Study Center, Monday – Thursday, for scheduled group sessions, individual tutoring sessions, exam review sessions, impromptu facilitated study groups, or reading groups. PAL tutors are students who are recommended by the faculty based on their academic success in specific subject areas, primarily at the 100-200 level.

Math Center

Tutors from the math and science faculty are available to work with students in classes that cover all levels of math & science at Ferrum College. The faculty tutors are occasionally assisted by peer tutors not involved in the PAL program who are upper level students majoring in math.

What will the Math Center tutors do to help me?

Help is available for homework assignments, tests, and quiz preparation related to all math courses and any other math related questions. The Monday evening, Tuesday afternoon and Thursday afternoon sessions also provide help for students taking physics classes.

Math Center Hours

The Math Center is located in the Academic Resources Center (ARC), lower level of Stanley Library. The Math Center hours vary by day. Assistance is available in the Math Center on a first come, first served basis.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

11:30 AM – 1 PM
2:30 PM- 3:30 PM
4 PM – 5 PM
10AM – 11 AM
12:30 PM – 2 PM
3:30 PM – 4:30 PM
11:30 AM – 1 PM
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM
4 PM – 5 PM
10AM – 11 AM
12:30 PM – 2 PM
3:30 PM – 4:30 PM
 CLOSED

All tutoring will take place virtually. You will need to email the tutor to schedule an appointment (even if it is during their available times) so that they can expect and prepare to work with you. Below is the list of tutors who have agreed to work during this time.

SectionProfessorTutor NameEmailAvailability
BIO 110Ghioca-RobrechtMikayla Morenommoreno@ferrum.eduM 2-4 pm; T Anytime after 12 pm
BIO 255GoffAlexzondra Mattsonamattson@ferrum.eduM, T, W, Th 5-10 pm
BIO 255GoffKyndra Powellkpowell@ferrum.eduSchedule appointment
BIO 255GoffNatasha Sheltonnshelton@ferrum.eduAnytime - schedule appointment
BIO 413BrubakerCayla Stephensckstephens@ferrum.eduSchedule appointment
CHM 103/104ALL FacultyTaylor Darnelltdarnell@ferrum.eduT/Th 4-5:30 pm
CHM 103/104/105ALL FacultyCaitlin Hodgescphodges@ferrum.eduWill update class weekly - schedule appointment
CHM 301/302GrochowskiCaitlin Hodgescphodges@ferrum.eduWill update class weekly - schedule appointment
CHM 302GrochowskiAlexzondra Mattsonamattson@ferrum.eduM, T, W, Th 5-10 pm
CHM 315SmelkovaCaitlin Hodgescphodges@ferrum.eduWill update class weekly - schedule appointment
ENG 102WhitedAmber Scottagscott2@ferrum.eduAnytime - schedule appointment
HIS 102DanielsNia Pettifordnpettiford@ferrum.eduT/Th 12-2 pm
MTH 208BowmanCaitlin Hodgescphodges@ferrum.eduWill update class weekly - schedule appointment
REL 111Vanden EckelJamie Gilbertjmgilbert@ferrum.eduT 12:30-1:30 pm
REL 111HowellLexi Davidsonadavidson@ferrum.eduW 1-2 pm
REL 151WildsJamie Gilbertjmgilbert@ferrum.eduM 1:30-2:30 pm
SOC 202WimmerMolly Pattersonmepatterson@ferrum.eduT/Th 7:30-8:30 pm
THA 206Blankenship-TuckerJamie Gilbertjmgilbert@ferrum.eduW 1:30-2:30 pm

Writing Center

Ferrum College’s Writing Center welcomes all students at all levels of ability and in all disciplines. We encourage students to stop in for assistance at any stage of the writing process; we can help with brainstorming, planning, researching, documenting, drafting, and revising.

Writing Center Hours

The Writing Center is located in the Stanley Library, main floor. The Writing Center hours vary by day.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

1:00 – 8:00 PM1:00 – 4:30 PM1:00 – 8:00 PM1:00 – 4:30 PM1:15-2:15

Contact Us

Tyler Brubaker
Academic Support Counselor
Lower Stanley Library, Office 109 C