Tutoring Services2020-01-23T17:53:24+00:00

Tutoring Services

The Academic Resource Center offers a number of support programs, including peer tutoring. Peer Assisted Learning (PAL) sessions are held in the ARC Study Center, Monday – Thursday, for scheduled group sessions, individual tutoring sessions, exam review sessions, impromptu facilitated study groups, or reading groups. PAL tutors are students who are recommended by the faculty based on their academic success in specific subject areas, primarily at the 100-200 level.

Math Center

Tutors from the math and science faculty are available to work with students in classes that cover all levels of math & science at Ferrum College. The faculty tutors are occasionally assisted by peer tutors not involved in the PAL program who are upper level students majoring in math.

What will the Math Center tutors do to help me?

Help is available for homework assignments, test, and quiz preparation related to all math courses; and any other math related questions. The Monday evening, Tuesday afternoon and Thursday afternoon sessions also provide help for students taking physics classes.

Math Center Hours

The Math Center is located in the Academic Resources Center (ARC), lower level of Stanley Library. The Math Center hours vary by day. Assistance is available in the Math Center on a first come, first served basis.
The Math Center is located in the Academic Resources Center (ARC), lower level of Stanley Library. The Math Center hours vary by day. Assistance is available in the Math Center on a first come, first served basis.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

11:30 AM – 1 PM
2:30 PM- 3:30 PM
4 PM – 5 PM
10AM – 11 AM
12:30 PM – 2 PM
3:30 PM – 4:30 PM
11:30 AM – 1 PM
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM
4 PM – 5 PM
10AM – 11 AM
12:30 PM – 2 PM
3:30 PM – 4:30 PM
 CLOSED

Students can simply show up for PAL sessions at days and times published throughout the semester, or contact the PAL tutor directly via email. PAL services are provided at no additional cost to students.

In addition to PAL tutoring, faculty members from across several disciplines spend their office hours in the ARC, giving the student an opportunity to work with their professor outside of class in a comfortable environment.

Section Professor Tutor Name Email Time
BIO 110 Ghioca-Robrecht Gloria Wood gwood@ferrum.edu T 11am-12pm

F 10:15-11:15am

BIO 110 Frederickson Mikayla Moreno mmoreno@ferrum.edu M/W 4-5pm
BIO 111 Burke Marcus Trotman mtrotman@ferrum.edu M/W 2:30-3:30pm
BIO 111 Burke Renee Alleyne ralleyne@ferrum.edu T/Th 11am-12pm
BIO 254 Goff Alexzondra Mattson amattson@ferrum.edu W 6-7pm
BIO 254 Goff Kyndra Powell kpowell@ferrum.edu T 4-5pm W 5-6pm
BIO 254 Goff Natasha Shelton nshelton@ferrum.edu M/W 4-5pm
BIO 413 Brubaker Cayla Stephens ckstephens@ferrum.edu T/Th 7-8pm
BUS 230 Groth Reina Balderas rbalderas@ferrum.edu M/T 5:30-6:30pm
CHM 103/104 ALL Faculty Taylor Darnell tdarnell@ferrum.edu T/Th 6-7pm
CHM 103/104/105 ALL Faculty Caitlin Hodges cphodges@ferrum.edu M 4-5 pm; T 8-9pm
CHM 301/302 Grochowski Alexzondra Mattson amattson@ferrum.edu W 7-8pm
CHM 301/302 Grochowski Caitlin Hodges cphodges@ferrum.edu M 5-6 pm
CHM 315 Smelkova Caitlin Hodges cphodges@ferrum.edu T 7-8pm
ECO 201/202 Basu Reina Balderas rbalderas@ferrum.edu M/T 5:30-6:30pm
ENG 101 Mackenzie Chelsea Zizzi czizzi@ferrum.edu W 1-2pm
ENG 102 Whited Amber Scott agscott2@ferrum.edu M 11:30am-12:30pm

Th 5:45-6:45pm

ESC 102 Heck Savannah Farris sfarris@ferrum.edu W 12:30-1:30pm
HHP 340 Mattox Jordan Thompson jnthompson@ferrum.edu T/Th 7-8pm
HIS 101/102 Daniels Nia Pettiford npettiford@ferrum.edu M/W 10-11am
MTH 111 Faulkner Chelsea Zizzi czizzi@ferrum.edu W 1-2pm
MTH 208 Bowman Caitlin Hodges cphodges@ferrum.edu W 4-5pm
MUS 111/117 McAllister Amber Scott agscott2@ferrum.edu T/Th 2-4pm
PHI 131 Corvin Renee Alleyne ralleyne@ferrum.edu T/Th 12-1pm
PSY 306/333 St. Peters Lia White lwhite@ferrum.edu T 4-5pm
REL 111 Vanden Eckel Jamie Gilbert jmgilbert@ferrum.edu M 1:30-2:20pm

T 12:30-1:30pm

REL 151 Wilds Jamie Gilbert jmgilbert@ferrum.edu M 1:30pm-2:20pm

T 12:30-1:30pm

THA 222 McAllister Jordan Thompson jnthompson@ferrum.edu T/Th 8-9pm

Writing Center

Ferrum College’s Writing Center welcomes all students at all levels of ability and in all disciplines. We encourage students to stop in for assistance at any stage of the writing process; we can help with brainstorming, planning, researching, documenting, drafting, and revising.

Writing Center Hours

The Writing Center is located in the Stanley Library, main floor. The Writing Center hours vary by day.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

1:00 – 8:00 PM 1:00 – 4:30 PM 1:00 – 8:00 PM 1:00 – 4:30 PM 1:15-2:15

Contact Us

Tyler Brubaker
Academic Support Counselor
Lower Stanley Library, Office 109 C