Tutoring Services2019-10-07T18:39:38+00:00

Tutoring Services

The Academic Resource Center offers a number of support programs, including peer tutoring. Peer Assisted Learning (PAL) sessions are held in the ARC Study Center, Monday – Thursday, for scheduled group sessions, individual tutoring sessions, exam review sessions, impromptu facilitated study groups, or reading groups. PAL tutors are students who are recommended by the faculty based on their academic success in specific subject areas, primarily at the 100-200 level.

Students can simply show up for PAL sessions at days and times published throughout the semester, or contact the PAL tutor directly via email. PAL services are provided at no additional cost to students.

In addition to PAL tutoring, faculty members from across several disciplines spend their office hours in the ARC, giving the student an opportunity to work with their professor outside of class in a comfortable environment.

Course Professor(s) PAL Email Session
ASI 231 Brubaker Cayla Stephens ckstephens@ferrum.edu Tues./Thurs. 5-6pm
BIO 105 All Sections Tamiah Palmer tpalmer@ferrum.edu Wed./Thurs. 8-9pm
BIO 110/111 All Sections Tamiah Palmer tpalmer@ferrum.edu Tues. 8-9pm
BIO 202 Pohlad Tamiah Palmer tpalmer@ferrum.edu Tues./Thurs. 7-8pm
CHM 103/104/105 Powell, Puccio, Grochowski, Smelkova Taylor Darnell tdarnell@ferrum.edu Tues./Thurs. 6:30-7:30pm
CHM 103/104 Powell, Puccio, Grochowski, Smelkova Caitlin Hodges cphodges@ferrum.edu Wed. 4:30-5:30pm
CHM 105 Smelkova Caitlin Hodges cphodges@ferrum.edu Mon. 8-9pm
CHM 105 Smelkova Kate Anderson klanderson97@ferrum.edu Tues./Thurs. 7-8pm
CHM 302 Smelkova Christina Oubkeo coubekeo@ferrum.edu Tues. 6:30-7:30pm
CHM 315 Smelkova Christina Oubkeo coubekeo@ferrum.edu Thurs. 6:30-7:30pm
ENG 102 Whited Amber Scott agscott2@ferrum.edu Tues. 6:45-7:45pm/ Wed. 3:30-4:30pm
ENG 200 Grimes Kyndra Powell kpowell@ferrum.edu Mon./Wed. 5-6pm
MTH 100 All Sections Morgan Scott mescott@ferrum.edu Tues. 4:30-5:20pm/ Wed. 9-10am
MTH 105 Allen Morgan Scott mescott@ferrum.edu Tues. 3:30-4:30pm
MTH 107 NIcolas Joshua Wright jgwright@ferrum.edu Wed. 5:15-6:15pm/ Thurs. 6:15-7:15pm
MTH 111 Faulkner Joshua Wright jgwright@ferrum.edu Tues. 4:30-5:30pm/ Wed. 6:15-7:15pm
MTH 111 Allen Morgan Scott mescott@ferrum.edu Mon./Wed. 10-11am
MTH 208 Nicolas Joshua Wright jgwright@ferrum.edu Tues. 3:30-4:30pm/ Thurs. 5:15-6:15pm
MUS 112 McAllister Amber Scott agscott2@ferrum.edu Mon. 3:30-6:30pm
PHI 211 Corvin Alexandria Dixon amdixon@ferrum.edu Mon./Wed. 2:15-3:15pm
PSY 201 Dahl Lia White lwhite@ferrum.edu Wed./Thurs. 7-8pm
PSY 201/211 Stein Leya Deickman ldeickman@ferrum.edu Tues. Thurs. 3-4pm
SPA 101 Irish Brandon Mullins bemullins@ferrum.edu Tues./Thurs. 2:15-3:15pm
SPA 101 Irish Carly Nelson cnelson@ferrum.edu Mon./Wed. 2-3pm
THA 222 McAllister Alexandria Dixon amdixon@ferrum.edu Mon./Wed. 1:15-2:15pm

Math Center

Tutors from the math and science faculty are available to work with students in classes that cover all levels of math & science at Ferrum College. The faculty tutors are occasionally assisted by peer tutors not involved in the PAL program who are upper level students majoring in math.

What will the Math Center tutors do to help me?

Help is available for homework assignments, test, and quiz preparation related to all math courses; and any other math related questions. The Monday evening, Tuesday afternoon and Thursday afternoon sessions also provide help for students taking physics classes.

Math Center Hours

The Math Center is located in the Academic Resources Center (ARC), lower level of Stanley Library. The Math Center hours vary by day. Assistance is available in the Math Center on a first come, first served basis.
The Math Center is located in the Academic Resources Center (ARC), lower level of Stanley Library. The Math Center hours vary by day. Assistance is available in the Math Center on a first come, first served basis.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

12:15-1:15 PM
12:30-3 PM
12:15-1:15 PM
12:15-1:15 PM
12:15-1:15 PM

Writing Center

Ferrum College’s Writing Center welcomes all students at all levels of ability and in all disciplines. We encourage students to stop in for assistance at any stage of the writing process; we can help with brainstorming, planning, researching, documenting, drafting, and revising.

Writing Center Hours

The Writing Center is located in the Stanley Library, main floor. The Writing Center hours vary by day.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

1:00 – 8:00 PM 1:00 – 4:30 PM 1:00 – 8:00 PM 1:00 – 4:30 PM 1:15-2:15

Contact Us

Ronda Bryant
Assistant to the Dean of Academic Affairs for Academic Initiatives
Stanley Library, Lower Level 106