In Residence Series

//In Residence Series
In Residence Series2019-02-13T18:06:19+00:00
Executive in Residence

The Ferrum College In Residence Series

The Ferrum College In Residence Series initiative is designed to bring the real-world experience of current and retired professionals to the classroom. Guest speakers tour campus, audit classes, interact with students and faculty and are asked to deliver a lecture sharing their personal experiences and philosophies. Speakers offer insight on the knowledge, skills and leadership qualities necessary for a successful career. Many of the lectures are open to both the College community and the general public.

Past In Residence Speakers

Dennis Dimick
American journalist and photographer

Dr. Basil I. Gooden
Secretary of Agriculture & Forestry for the Commonwealth of Virginia

Nancy Stafford
Author, Actress and Motivational Speaker

Levar Stoney
Secretary to the Commonwealth of Virginia

Amie Stepanovich
Senior Policy Counsel, Access

My E. Chung 
President and Chief Executive Officer, Luna

Matt Lohr 
Director of the Knowledge Center, Farm Credit of the Virginias

Greg Craddock ’92 
CEO, Patriot Group International

Ted Edlich
Former CEO, Total Action for Progress

Roddy Moore
Director of Blue Ridge Institute and Farm Museum

James E. Winkler
President & General Secretary, National Council of Churches

Alfred “Al” Midgett ’79
Author, Founder/CEO of The NobleMen

Kimberley S. Crannis ’83
Chief of Police, Blacksburg, Virginia

Jim Wade
Director & Former President, Advance Auto Parts

Woody Crenshaw
Founding President of SustainFloyd

William H. Fralin, Jr.
President and CEO of Medical Facilities of America, Inc.

Julie E. Swanson  
President/CEO of Lutheran Family Services of Virginia 

Patrick Patterson 
President of Novozymes Biologicals 

Nancy Howell Agee
President and CEO of Carilion Clinic 

Jeffrey A. Marks 
President and General Manager of WDBJ7 

Michael W. McColl ’93 
Voice Actor

Harvey D. Brookins, Jr.  
Market President & Business Banking Manager at Wells Fargo

Marc A. Schewel 
President of Schewel Furniture Company

Michael J. Quillen  
Executive Chairman of the Board of Alpha Natural Resources, Inc. 

Clay Campbell 
President of Martinsville Speedway 

Charles Patton 
President and Chief Operating Officer of Appalachian Power 

Debra C. (Debbie) Meade 
President and Publisher at The Roanoke Times

Dennis Cronk 
President and CEO of Poe & Cronk Real Estate Group

John Williamson 
President and CEO of Roanoke Gas Company

Ed Walker 
Managing Director of Regeneration Partners LLC

Neal Naff M.D. 
Neurosurgeon at the Cyber Knife Program at John Hopkins

E. Michael Mutchler 
Vice President and Group Executive at General Motors

Baxter F. Phillips, Jr.’66 
President of Massey Energy Company

Frank M. Simms 
Manager of Hydro Operations for American Electric Power (AEP)

Edward G. Murphy M.D. 
President and CEO of Carilion Clinic