Board of Trustees

//Board of Trustees
Board of Trustees2021-02-04T21:24:22+00:00

Ferrum College Board of Trustees

Scott Showalter ‘73
Chair of the Ferrum College Board of Trustees

Members of the Ferrum College Board of Trustees (BOT) are volunteers who are qualified to serve by virtue of their achievements, scholarship, business-related experience and/or United Methodist Church association. They are appointed to direct the policies and retain senior management personnel of the College.

As a group the BOT is liable for the financial and other consequences of the College’s activities.

Board Member Responsibilities

  • Know the mission and purpose of the organization− Serve four-year terms, making meeting attendance and participation a high priority
  • Set policies, approve the operating budget, and oversee its implementation
  • Participate in strategic planning and committee assignments
  • Ensure the legal and ethical integrity of the organization
  • Select, support and evaluate the performance of the president
  • Make an annual financial commitment to the College at a level consistent with ability to give, and provide fund raising contacts to outside funding sources
  • Monitor and strengthen the College’s programs and services
  • Enhance the public standing of Ferrum College by being an advocate and spokesperson

Board of Trustees Members (July 1, 2019-June 30, 2020)

Officers and Executive Committee

  • Mr. D. Scott Showalter ’73             Chair of the Board
  • Mr. W. Jeffrey Booker                    First Vice Chair
  • Dr. Bernice Cobbs ‘98                     Second Vice Chair
  • Mrs. Suzanne Smith ‘98                 Secretary
  • Mrs. Phyllis Karavatakis ‘76          Immediate Past Board Chair
  • Mr. George D. Yancey ‘67              Chair, Audit Committee
  • Dr. W. Jeffrey Booker                     Chair, Business Affairs Committee
  • Mr. John P. Cougill ’69                   Chair, Institutional Advancement
  • Mr. Baxter Phillips ’66                    Chair, Investment Committee
  • Dr. Ronald E. Singleton ‘70           Chair, Academic Affairs/Student Affairs Committee
  • Mrs. Suzanne Smith ’98                 Chair, Enrollment/Athletics Committee
  • Mrs. Vicki Gardner                          Member-at-Large
  • Mr. Jud Mason ‘67                           Member-at-Large


David Arrington, Rocky Mount

Denise Bates, Martinsville

Suzanne Bell ’62, Vinton

Suzanne M. Boltz, Lake Frederick

Dr. W. Jeffrey (Jeff) Booker

Dr. Bernice Cobbs ‘98

John Cougill ’69, Richmond

Jeff Davoud, 97, Midlothian

Vicki Gardner, Goodview

Phyllis Karavatakis ’76, Union Hall

Ann Klotz, Waynesboro

Jeff Knotts, Woodbridge

Sharma D. Lewis, Glen Allen

Judson P. (Jud) Mason ’67, Nellysford

Annita Nelson, Ferrum

Baxter Phillips, Jr. ’66, Manakin Sabot

Glenn Rowley, Glen Allen

D. Scott Showalter ‘73

Ronald Singleton ’70, Fredericksburg

Carolyn L. Smith, Dumfries

Suzanne M. Smith ‘98

Twyla Tatum ’04, Manassas

Nancy Walsh

Teresa Watson, Lynchburg

Marilyn H. West, Richmond

Bruce Whitehurst, Glen Allen

George D. Yancey ’67, Gordonsville

 Trustees Emeriti

William B. Bales, Williamsburg

Maury L. Carter ’53, Orlando, FL

Patricia O. Compton, Richmond

Robert A. Cox, Jr., Richmond

Thelma B. Crowder, South Boston

Sid D. Mason, Roanoke

M. Douglas Newman ’42, Roanoke

Ida B. Powell, Lynchburg