Smith Mountain Lake Water Quality Program

//Smith Mountain Lake Water Quality Program
Smith Mountain Lake Water Quality Program2019-01-31T03:40:37+00:00

Ferrum College Smith Mountain Lake Water Quality Program

A collaborative project of faculty and students of the Ferrum College School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics and The Smith Mountain Lake Association.

Contact Information

Water Quality Program Staff

This site is sponsored by the Smith Mountain Lake Association and Ferrum College and hosted by the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at Ferrum College. All information is protected by copyright and cannot be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of the Water Quality Program staff.

For GIS based interactive searchable maps of water quality sites click link to the left

Previous Annual Reports (click on year to download pdf file): 1987-88-89, 1990-91, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 20052006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 SML Report Final, 2018 SML Report Final (NEW) 

Smith Mountain Lake Water Quality Monitoring Program

Since 1987, the Ferrum College Water Quality Program has worked in collaboration with the Smith Mountain Lake Association to coordinate the efforts of volunteer water quality monitors in measuring and tracking water quality parameters for Smith Mountain Lake. Parameters monitored include: Secchi depth (a measure of water clarity), E. coli concentration, dissolved oxygen concentration, conductivity, pH, chlorophyll-A concentration, and total phosphorus concentration.

This work has received funding from the Smith Mountain Lake Association, American Electric Power, Bedford County, Franklin County, Pittsylvania County, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, Western Virginia Water Authority, and Tri-county Lake Administrative Commission.

Award presented to Dr. Carolyn Thomas and Dr. David Johnson for 30 years of dedication to and starting the SML Water Quality Project.  From left to right: Mr. Larry Iceman (SML Association), Dr. Thomas, Dr. Johnson, Mr. Charles Patton (Past-President of Appalachian Power Company) and Dr. Jody Spooner (Past-President of Ferrum College)