PreProfessionalHealth

About the Program

The mission of the Pre-professional Health Sciences program is to educate students in the science foundation of the Health Sciences and to provide:

  • a quality curriculum emphasizing experiential learning
  • a faculty current in their field and professionally engaged
  • assistance in making a successful transition into their chosen profession

This major includes the basic science courses and liberal arts foundation followed by specialization at another institution in a specific professional career area. Depending on specific professional goals, many students will be able to complete the Ferrum component of the major in three years and Ferrum will confer the B.S. in Pre-professional Health Sciences after students earn the required additional professional elective credit hours in their professional area.

Emphasis Areas

The Pre-Med Emphasis is designed to serve as a pre-professional course of study for students interested in applying to programs awarding the following degrees: Medical Doctor (MD), Doctor of Osteopathy (DO), Master of Science in Physician Assistant (MSPA) among others.

Courses in Pre Med may include:

  • Biology
  • Organic Chemistry
  • Microbiology
  • Professional Preparations
  • Biochemistry
  • Anatomy and Physiology
  • Organic Chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Microbiology
  • Genetics
  • Human Nutrition

Internships: Students are required to explore career opportunities and to establish mentors through an internship.

What Can I be With a Major in Pre-professional Health Sciences?

  • Nurse/Nurse Practitioner
  • Physician Assistant
  • Doctor of Osteopathy
  • Medical Technologist
  • Doctor of Podiatry
  • Occupational Therapist
  • Physical Therapist
  • Clinical Laboratory Scientist
  • Pharmacist
  • Health Science Researcher
  • Nuclear Medicine Specialist
  • Chiropractic Medical Doctor
  • Medical Imaging Specialist

Articulation Agreements

Ferrum College has and continues to develop articulation agreements with other institutions. Currently professional programs covered by these agreements include:

  • Nursing (2)
  • Osteopathic Medicine
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Chiropractic Medicine
  • Physical Therapy
  • Pharmacy
  • Clinical Laboratory Science
  • Podiatric Medicine

David Park
Instructor of Biology
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(540) 365-4452
dpark@ferrum.edu

Laura Grochowski
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Program Coordinator of Forensic Science
Ph.D., Oregon State University
(540) 365-6949
lgrochowski@ferrum.edu

Bob Pohlad
Professor of Biology and Horticulture
Ph.D., University of Georgia
(540) 365-4378
bpohlad@ferrum.edu

Jason Powell
Professor of Chemistry and Physics Education
Program Coordinator of Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(540) 365-4376
jpowell@ferrum.edu

Katherine Goff
PROGRAM COORDINATOR OF PRE-PROFESSIONAL HEALTH SCIENCE
Associate Professor of Biology
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
(540) 365-4468
kgoff@ferrum.edu

Cherie Bond
Assistant Professor of Biology
Ph.D., Indiana University School of Medicine-IUPUI
(540) 365-4369
cbond@ferrum.edu

Dan Bowman
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Indiana University
(540) 365-4361
dbowman@ferrum.edu

Jinnie Garrett
Professor of Biology, Dean of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Ph.D., Texas A & M University
MSc Trent University
M.I Biol. N.E. Surrey College of Technology
(540) 365-4370
jmgarrett@ferrum.edu

Maria Puccio
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., George Washington University
(540) 365-4238
mpuccio@ferrum.edu

Natalia Smelkova
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
Ph.D., Sackler Institute of Biomedical Science, NYU
(540) 365-4362
nsmelkova@ferrum.edu

Find Out More

Contact Dr. Katie Goff, Associate Professor of Biology at kgoff@ferrum.edu