Beckham Society

It is the goal of the members of The Beckham Society to create educational opportunities for current and future Ferrum College students.

The Beckham Society recognizes alumni and friends who have made Ferrum College a beneficiary of a deferred gift through their wills, trusts, life insurance policies, gift annuities, or other deferred gift arrangements. The Beckham Society is named in memory of Ferrum’s first president, Dr. Benjamin Beckham.

2012 – 2013 Members

Mr. Charles M. Abernathy '45 Mr. William C. Hartnett '62
Mr. Alan W. Adkins '68 Mr. S. Kelly Herrick '84
Mr. William H. Aiken, Jr. '60 Dr. Linda Padgett Hollandsworth '67
Prof. James S. Angle '56 Mr. William L. Hudson '63
Rev. C. Wesley Astin, Jr. '74 Mr. John W. Inge, IV '73
Mr. James W. Bailey '64 Mrs. Ruby Ingram King '32
Mr. William B. Bales Ms. Mariah M. Koptis '05
Mr. Paul S. Barbery Mr. Steven C. Lambert
Mrs. Betty A. Beatty Mr. J. York Lindsey '76
Mr. Robert S. Bell, Sr. Mr. James R. Lindsey
Ms. Susan Elizabeth Bell '90 Mr. Samuel L. Lionberger, Jr.
Mr. Daniel R. Blasche '83 Mr. J. Glynn Loope '86
Mr. Scott A. Bono '90 Mrs. Evelyn G. Loree
Mrs. Sharon Matney Bono '85 Mr. Kip Lornell
Mr. William G. Booker, Jr. '61 Mrs. Clarice Lynn
Dr. Jerry M. Boone Mr. Judson P. Mason '67
Rev. Conrad A. Braaten Mr. Sidney D. Mason
Dr. Jennifer L. Braaten Dr. Ellis F. Maxey '42
Mr. Billy Byrd '82 Dr. Kenneth R. McCreedy
Mrs. Violet P. Carter Mr. Charles G. Menefee '42
Mr. Worth H. Carter, Jr. Mrs. Mary H. Menefee
Ms. Christi Lee Cherry Mr. Richard R. Menefee, Sr. '43
Mr. Michael T. Christian '63 Mrs. Wise S. Moon
Mrs. Pauline Yates Clark '41 Dr. M. Douglas Newman, Sr. '42
Mrs. Charlotte T. Cooley Mr. David A. Norford '65
Mr. Robert A. Cox, Jr. Mr. Hank Norton, Jr. '97
Mr. L. Wayne Creasman '61 Mrs. Richard F. Pence
Mr. John M. Crockett '68 Ms. Linda L. Perdue '67
Mr. Matt Cross '69 Dr. Marvin M. Phaup, Jr.
Mrs. Nancy Sink Cross '69 Mr. A. C. Phillips '62
Mr. Carthan F. Currin, III '84 Mr. Joseph H. Philpott, Jr. '64
Mrs. Frances Martin Dale '66 Mr. Lawrence V. Pilson
Mrs. Ethelyne Fulcher Daniel '43 Mrs. Theresa M. Potter
Mr. Allen S. DeHart '54 Ms. Marny S. Richardson '66
Mr. James R. Dennis '86 Dr. Henry L. Roediger, III
Mr. James W. Dennis Mr. Richard H. Sadler
Mr. Kevin O. Dill '79 Mr. Leo H. Scott '51
Mr. Michael C. Donavant '72 Mr. George W. Seals, Sr.
Miss Frances Beulah Eddy Mrs. Judy Simmons
Mrs. Alice McDaniel Elliott '03 Mr. Robert J. Simmons '63
Capt. George W. Elliott '38 Mr. Charles A. Skinner '48
Mr. Edmond B. Fitzgerald, IV '82 Ms. Elsie C. Slayton
Ms. Linda E. Fletcher '66 Mr. John Redd Smith, Jr.
Dr. Douglas W. Foard '63 Rev. Carl O. Stewart '55
Mrs. Betty J. Forbes Mrs. Jane Duncan Stogner
Mr. Clyde K. Gantt '80 Dr. Joseph D. Stogner
Mr. Kenneth M. Gassman, Jr. Mr. David B. Stroupe '57
Mr. Ed G. George '68 Mrs. Nancy Yaple Stroupe '56
Mr. Richard Anthony Giesen Mr. David L. Struebing
Mr. K. Edward Goode, Sr. '46 Mrs. Sharlene Pritchett Wade '89
Mrs. Reva Edwards Goode '46 Mrs. Addie Lee E. Walker
Mr. Bruce A. Griffith '66 Mrs. Colleen Haddon Watson '89
Mr. Johnny V. Halsey '66 Dr. Gregory D. Watson '88
Mr. Peter Hartman Mr. G. Scott White '74
  Mrs. Leigh Huff White '74


In Memoriam

Dr. Dora Jean Ashe '43 Mr. John H. Matthews
Mr. John K. Bagwell '29 Dr. W. Melvin Maxey
Mr. Guy E. Beatty Ms. Beatrice A. McCall
Mrs. Agnes Cox Bell '27 Rev. William A. Moon, Jr. '41
Mr. J. H. Bennett Mrs. Bessie H. Payne
Mrs. Marie Glasener Black Mr. Leroy J. Payne '27
Mrs. Nancy Eggleston Blake '17 Miss Louise Pedigo '20
Mrs. Maggie M. Brammer Mrs. Virginia Pharr
Mrs. Lillian B.T. Brinkmann Mrs. Alexandra Victoria Pike
Mrs. Agnes Burr Mr. Allen H. Pike
Mr. David Hall Burrows Mrs. Beulah Harvell Ramsey '40
Mr. Carlisle C. Butler Mr. Curtis L. Ramsey '29
Mrs. Mary Cabaniss Mrs. Dorothy Virginia Rich
Mrs. Zada Duncan Carver '28 Miss Mamie L. Rickman
Mrs. Ann K. Chapman Mrs. Louise R. Roediger
Mr. Charles C. Cherry '35 Mrs. Mae Schottland
Mr. Paul F. Coe Miss Carrie Ellen Shelton '23
Mr. J. William Davis Mrs. C. C. Shockley
Mr. Horace G. Dyer Dr. Bernard R. Simmons
Mrs. Jane M. Flippo Mr. L. Earl Simms '24
Mrs. Virginia P. Fulton Col. Earl G. Skeens, Jr.
Mrs. Eva N. Haley '24 Mrs. Ruby Martin Skinnell '30
Miss Elizabeth Hesser Dr. James G. Snead
Mr. James M. Hesser Mrs. Suelle Swartz
Mrs. Kathleen Overman High '42 Mrs. Elizabeth Gray Treakle
Mr. J. Clyde Hooker, Jr. Mrs. Linda S. Treakle
Rev. Vergil Vergil Hudson '42 Mr. William C. Vaughan
Mr. Matt P. Jordan Mrs. Evelyn L. Vaughn
Mrs. Elsie D. Kennett Mrs. Betty D. Whitlock
Mr. Benjamin R. Kesler, Sr. '29 Mrs. Dorothea Wilburn
Mrs. Frances S. Key Mrs. Annie Webster Williams '26
Mrs. Jeanne S. Kinnamon Dr. Forrest S. Williams
Mrs. Patricia C. Layer Mr. Marion A. Williams '28
Rev. Walter M. Lockett, Jr. Mr. Richard Wills
Mrs. Vilma Mason  

Jud Mason

Judson P. (Jud) Mason, Jr. ’67
Jud Mason is the chair of the Ferrum College Beckham Society. He is a former member of the Ferrum College Board of Trustees and served as chair of the Institutional Advancement Committee as well as chair of the Sports Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

 In 2006 Mason was awarded the Ferrum College Beckham Medallion (the College’s highest honor given to an alumnus) and in 1996 was inducted into the Ferrum College Alumni Sports Hall of Fame where he was honored for not only his service as a manager and student trainer, but for his passion for Ferrum athletics, and his accomplishments throughout his life.

Colonel Mason served in the United States Marine Corps for thirty years, retiring in 2000. Highlights of his career included serving in three of the four Marine Aircraft Wings and with Marine Helicopter Squadron One at Quantico, Virginia.

Prior to his military service, Mason received his Associate in Arts from Ferrum Junior College in 1967. He transferred to the College of William and Mary, graduating in 1970 with a Bachelor of Arts and in 1976 with a Master's in Education and is also a graduate of the National Defense University, Industrial College of the Armed Forces, Washington DC.

Colonel Mason exemplifies Ferrum College’s “Not Self, But Others” motto with generous service to his alma mater and to various church and civic groups.
For more information about becoming a Beckham Society member, please contact: 
George W. Seals, Director of Planned and Principal Gifts, gseals@ferrum.edu or 540-365-4299.