Ferrum News

Ferrum College's Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority Receives National Award.


The College’s Gamma Mu Chapter is recognized for nearly doubling its size during its first semester of recruitment.

Ferrum, Va. (September 7, 2012) – At the Delta Phi Epsilon National Conference this summer, the Gamma Mu chapter of Ferrum College’s first national sorority was recognized with the Outstanding Colony Recruitment Plan Award for nearly doubling its size during its first semester of recruitment. The Gamma Mu chapter was selected for the award from among fifteen other Delta Phi Epsilon chapters started between 2010 and 2012.

“As one of the newer Delta Phi Epsilon chapters, the Gamma Mu sisters are very excited to be honored with this award,” said Delta Phi Epsilon Gamma Mu Chapter President Clare Mathews. Mathews and sisters Aleia Essert and Chelsie Brown received the award on behalf of the sorority during the DIMES Award Banquet on Saturday, July 14, 2012.

Delta Phi Epsilon is Ferrum College’s newest sorority and the first national Greek letter society on its campus. Colonized from the once local sorority Zeta Theta Epsilon, the Gamma Mu Chapter of Delta Phi Epsilon was chartered on November 12, 2011.

Dedicated to supporting Delta Phi Epsilon’s mission to develop in women a social consciousness and a commitment to think and act for the greater good, Ferrum’s Gamma Mu Chapter is involved in many philanthropic projects that support a variety of organizations including those that fight eating disorders, breast cancer, diabetes, hunger, and cystic fibrosis.

Founded in 1917 by five women at New York University Law School, Delta Phi Epsilon is one of the first non-sectarian, social sororities and the only one founded at a professional school. In 1922, Delta Phi Epsilon extended into Canada to become an international sorority. Today’s Delta Phi Epsilon chapters and their more than 50,000 members enjoy a distinguished reputation for scholarship, service, and leadership.

Photo information: (L to R) Gamma Mu sisters Aleia Essert, Chelsie Brown, and Clare Mathews received the award during the DIMES Award Banquet on Saturday July 14, 2012.

#    #    #