FACULTY

David B. Howell
Dean, School of Arts and Humanities

Professor of Religion
A.B., William Jewell College
M.Div. and Th.M., Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
D. Phil., University of Oxford
(540) 365-4413 | dhowell@ferrum.edu

Gary L. Angel
Professor of Philosophy
B.A., University of Evansville
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Ph.D., Purdue University
(540) 365-4343  |  gangel@ferrum.edu

John C. Carey
Instructor of English
B.A., West Virginia University
M.A., Marshall University
(540) 365-4356  |  jcarey@ferrum.edu

Jack W. Corvin, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
B.A., Ferrum College
Ph. D., University of Georgia
(540) 365-4526  |  jwcorvin@ferrum.edu

Tim Daniels
Assistant Professor of History
B.S. / B.A., Hampden-Sydney College
M.A., University of Alabama
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
(540) 365-4397 | tadaniels@ferrum.edu

Beth Dantonio
Instructor of English
B.A., George Mason University
M.A. Hollins University
(540) 365-4384 | bdantonio@ferrum.edu

Karen A. Duddy
Instructor of English and Coordinator of the Writing Center
B.A., Boston College
M.A., Rutgers University
(540) 365-4350  |  kduddy@ferrum.edu

David Eichelberger
Assistant Professor of Art
B.F.A., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
M.F.A., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
(540) 365-4518  |  deichelberger@ferrum.edu

Nicole Greer Golda
Assistant Professor of History
B.A., Whittier College, California
M.A., University of Michigan
Ph.D., University of Michigan
(540) 365-4405  | ngreergolda@ferrum.edu

M. Katherine Grimes
Associate Professor of English
B.A., Catawba College
M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(540) 365-4264  |  kgrimes@ferrum.edu

Tina L. Hanlon
Associate Professor of English
B.A., Gettysburg College
M.A. & Ph. D., The Ohio State University
(540) 365-4327  |  thanlon@ferrum.edu

Allison L. Harl
Associate Professor of English
B.A., Radford University
M.A., Georgia State University
Ph.D., University of Arkansas
(540) 365-4325  |  aharl@ferrum.edu

John V. Kitterman
Professor of English
B.A., University of Virginia
M.Ed., University of Virginia
M.A., University of Virginia
Ph.D., University of Virginia
(540) 365-4326  |  jkitterman@ferrum.edu

Melvin L. Macklin
Assistant Professor of English
B.A., Southern Illinois University
M.S., Prairie View A and M University
Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas
(540) 365-4313  |  mmacklin@ferrum.edu

Giuseppe Ritorto
Assistant Professor of Dramatic and Theatre Arts/Musical Theatre
B.A., Catawba College
M.F.A., New York University
(540) 365-4355  |  gritorto@ferrum.edu

Karl F. Roeper
Assistant Professor of Media & Communication
B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
M.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
(540) 365-4328  |  kroeper@ferrum.edu

Jacob Smith
Assistant Professor of Art
Art Program Coordinator
B.A., Roanoke College
M.F.A., The George Washington University
(540) 365-4340  |  jrsmith@ferrum.edu

Richard L. Smith
Professor of History
B.A., State University of New York at Cortland
M.A., Rutgers University
Ph.D., Rutgers University
(540) 365-4390  |  rsmith@ferrum.edu

Susan M. Spataro
Assistant Professor of Music
B.A., Moravian College
M.M., Temple University
(540) 365-4351  |  sspataro@ferrum.edu

Mingxiao Sui
Assistant Professor of Media and Communication
B.A., Hunan University, Changsha China
M.A., Hunan University, Changsha China
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
(540) 365-4331  | msui@ferrum.edu

Patricia S. Suppes
Associate Professor of Spanish
A.B., Sweet Briar College
M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
(540) 365-4358  |  psuppes@ferrum.edu

Eric M. Vanden Eykel
Assistant Professor of Religion
B.A., Southern Methodist University
M.Div., Emory University
M.A., Marquette University
Ph.D., Marquette University
(540) 365-4320  |  evandeneykel@ferrum.edu

Lana A. Whited
Professor of English and Director of the Boone Honors Program
B.A., Emory and Henry College
M.A., The College of William and Mary
M.A., Hollins College
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(540) 365-4334  |  lwhited@ferrum.edu