test

CAWS (Collaboration through Appalachian Watershed Studies)

The purpose of the CAWS (Collaboration through Appalachian Watershed Studies) project is to enhance ecology education at several small Appalachian colleges and universities by collaborative study of ecosystems using the small watershed approach.

Each of the participating schools maintains and monitors a small watershed for research and teaching purposes. These watersheds serve as the focus of ecological, geochemical, and botanical research projects conducted by faculty and students. Students gain valuable experience and acquire technical skills by studying the watershed in class and in summer internships. Information collected by researchers at each site are shared online so that students at any of the participating institutions can access data from any of the other institutions.

The CAWS project began as a spinoff of the ROCA project. ROCA involved three schools (Ferrum College, University of the South, and WV Wesleyan College) in collaboration with the University of Maryland's Appalachian Laboratory. In 2001, with the aid of a grant from the Mellon Foundation and the Appalachian College Association, three other institutions were added to the network (Lindsey Wilson, Montreat, and Davis and Elkins Colleges). King College joined the consortium in 2002. Recently, Ohio Valley University, Emory and Henry College, Alderson-Broaddus College and Mt. St. Mary's University have been added to the collaborative group.

Watershed Methods Manual

The manual and its contents can be found here »

Collaborators

If you are interested and would like to know more about the CAWS project please contact any one of the following collaborators.

Ferrum College — Virginia

Bob R. Pohlad
bpohlad@ferrum.edu
Professor of Biology and Horticulture
Ph.D. 1978, University of Georgia
Fungal Morphology and Ecology
Plant Pathology
Microbial Ecology of Forest and Agricultural Ecosystems
Instructional Technology and Science Education

Carolyn L. Thomas
cthomas@ferrum.edu
Professor of Environmental Science and Biology
Ph.D. 1984, Virginia Polytechnic Institute.
Lake Nutrient Dynamics
Aquatic Microbial Ecology
Watershed research

David Johnson
djohnson@ferrum.edu
Professor of Chemistry and Env. Science
Ph.D. 1976, University of Michigan.
NPS pollution reduction
GIS-based Watershed modeling
Water quality monitoring
Development of polymeric membrane anion selective electrodes

Todd Fredericksen
tfredericksen@ferrum.edu
Assistant Professor of Env. Science
Ph.D. , Virginia Polytechnic and State University.
Wildlife Biology
Forest Management

George Byrd
gbyrd@ferrum.edu
Associate Professor of Agriculture
Ph.D. , University of Georgia.
Pasture and Forage Science
Nutrient cycling in ag systems

University of the South (Sewanee) — Tennessee

Karen Kuers
kkuers@sewanee.edu
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 1994, University of Georgia.
Forestry and Geology
Mt. St. Mary's University, Maryland

Jeffery Simmons
simmons@msmary.edu
Associate Professor of Env. Science
Ph.D. 1993, Cornell University.

Ecosystem ecology
Aquatic ecology, toxicology, watersheds
Effects of heavy metal pollutants on stream ecosystems

Lindsey Wilson College — Kentucky

Susan Monteleone
monteleo@lindsey.edu

Associate Professor of Biology

Plant Ecology
Davis and Elkins College-West Virginia

Russ McClain

mcclainw@davisandelkins.edu
Professor of Environmental Science


Montreat College — North Carolina

Mark Lassiter
mlassiter@montreat.edu
Integration of Environmental Instrumentation and Laboratory technology in undergraduate training.
Juvenile Hormone metabolism in application to pesticide development.
Minimal environmental impact pesticides and field test kit development.
Chemical recycling protocols.
Environmental analysis and monitoring.
Monitoring water pollutants by physiological alteration of index species.
Mike Sonnenberg
msonnenberg@montreat.edu

Associate professor of Environmental Science

Examining the macro view, looking at the bigger picture.
Plants and animals in the field.

King College — Tennessee

Richard Moyer
ramoyer@king.edu
Professor of Biology


Ohio Valley University-West Virginia

Gordon Wells

gordon.wells@ovu.edu
Associate Professor of Natural Science and Education

Emory and Henry College

Laura Hainsworth

lhainsworth@ehc.edu

Ph.D., the University of Maryland

Associate Professor of Chemistry

chemistry of natural and polluted water environments.
Rare radioactive isotopes in natural geochemical processes
Ed Davis

edavis@ehc.edu

Ph.D., University of Illinois

Associate Professor of Geography

geography
Steven Hopp
shopp@ehc.edu

ornithology
Alderson-Broaddus-West Virginia

Tom Berlin

berlintj@mail.ab.edu

Assistant Professor of Environmental Science

John Enz

enzjj@mail.ab.edu
Assitant Professor of Biology

West Chester University — Pennsylvannia

Greg Turner
gturner@wcupa.edu
Assistant Professor of Biology
Mycorrhizal Ecology 
Plant Ecology

This page is part of the Collaboration through Appalachian Watershed Studies web site. Please report any errors to bpohlad@ferrum.edu