David B. Howell

Dean, School of Arts and Humanities
Professor of Religion

A.B., William Jewell College
M.Div. and Th.M., Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
D. Phil., University of Oxford
(540) 365-4413  |  dhowell@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Gary L. Angel

Professor of Philosophy

B.A., University of Evansville
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Ph.D., Purdue University
(540) 365-4343  |  gangel@ferrum.edu  | View Profile

H. Wayne Bowman

Professor of Theatre Arts
B.A., Berea College
M.A., University of Cincinnati
M.F.A., University of Virginia
(540) 365-4338  |  wbowman@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile


John C. Carey

Instructor of English
B.A., West Virginia University
M.A., Marshall University
(540) 365-4356  |  jcarey@ferrum.edu  | View Profile

Jack W. Corvin, Jr.

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
B.A., Ferrum College
Ph. D., University of Georgia
(540) 365-4526  |  jwcorvin@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Tim Daniels

Assistant Professor of History

B.S. / B.A., Hampden-Sydney College
M.A., University of Alabama
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
(540) 365-4397 tadaniels@ferrum.edu | View Profile

Beth Dantonio

Instructor of English

B.A., George Mason University
M.A. Hollins University
(540) 365-4384 bdantonio@ferrum.edu | View Profile

Karen A. Duddy

Instructor of English and Coordinator of the Writing Center

B.A., Boston College
M.A., Rutgers University
(540) 365-4350  |  kduddy@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

David Eichelberger

Assistant Professor of Art

B.F.A., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
M.F.A., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
(540) 365-4518  |  deichelberger@ferrum.edu

M. Katherine Grimes

Associate Professor of English

B.A., Catawba College
M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(540) 365-4264  |  kgrimes@ferrum.edu |View Profile

Tina L. Hanlon

Associate Professor of English

B.A., Gettysburg College
M.A. & Ph. D., The Ohio State University
(540) 365-4327  |  thanlon@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Allison L. Harl

Associate Professor of English

B.A., Radford University
M.A., Georgia State University
Ph.D., University of Arkansas
(540) 365-4325  |  aharl@ferrum.eduView Profile

John V. Kitterman

Professor of English

B.A., University of Virginia
M.Ed., University of Virginia
M.A., University of Virginia
Ph.D., University of Virginia
(540) 365-4326  |  jkitterman@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Melvin L. Macklin

Assistant Professor of English

B.A., Southern Illinois University
M.S., Prairie View A and M University
Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas
(540) 365-4313  |  mmacklin@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile


Giuseppe Ritorto

Assistant Professor of Dramatic and Theatre Arts/Musical Theatre

B.A., Catawba College
M.F.A., New York University
(540) 365-4355  |  gritorto@ferrum.edu  | View Profile

Karl F. Roeper

Assistant Professor of Media & Communication

B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
M.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
(540) 365-4328  |  kroeper@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

C. Milton Rowan

Associate Professor of History

B.A., West Virginia University
M.A., Miami University
Ph.D., Miami University
(540) 365-4405  |  mrowan@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Jacob Smith

Assistant Professor of Art

B.A., Roanoke College
M.F.A., The George Washington University
(540) 365-4340  |  jrsmith@ferrum.edu |  View Profile

Richard L. Smith

Professor of History

B.A., State University of New York at Cortland
M.A., Rutgers University
Ph.D., Rutgers University
(540) 365-4390  |  rsmith@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Susan M. Spataro

Assistant Professor of Music

B.A., Moravian College
M.M., Temple University
(540) 365-4351  |  sspataro@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Rachel Stauffer

Assistant Professor of Russian
Program Coordinator of Russian

Ph.D., University of Virginia
(540) 365-4331  |  rstauffer@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Patricia S. Suppes

Assistant Professor of Spanish

B.A., Sweet Briar College
M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
(540) 365-4358  |  psuppes@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Michael R. Trochim

Professor of History

B.A., University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A., University of Illinois at Chicago
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
(540) 365-4403  |  mtrochim@ferrum.edu |View Profile

Eric M. Vanden Eykel

Assistant Professor of Religion

B.A., Southern Methodist University
M.Div., Emory University
M.A., Marquette University
Ph.D., Marquette University
(540) 365-4320  |  evandeneykel@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile

Lana A. Whited

Professor of English and Director of the Boone Honors Program  
B.A., Emory and Henry College
M.A., The College of William and Mary
M.A., Hollins College
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(540) 365-4334  |  lwhited@ferrum.edu  |  View Profile