test

2014-2015 Catalog

An Invitation 

Students, parents, alumni and friends are cordially invited to visit the campus. Visitors should come to Welcome Center located at 10021 Franklin Street (see map, inside back cover) for information and assistance. For further information, please visit our website at www.ferrum.edu or contact the college at (540) 365-2121/Toll Free: 1-800-868-9797.

The Admissions Office, located in Spilman-Daniel house (see map, inside back cover) welcomes prospective students and their families. Admissions staff are available from 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. weekdays and by appointment, from 9 a.m. to noon on Saturdays during the academic year, except during holiday weekends. Admissions personnel are available other times by appointment. For further information or to schedule an admissions visit, please contact the Admissions Office, at (540)365-4290, 1-800-868-9797 Option 1, or admissions@ferrum.edu.

Ferrum College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran status, gender, sex, disability, or any other protected status in admission to, access to, treatment in or employment in its programs and activities. Ferrum College affirms the dignity and worth of every individual regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity and will not tolerate harassment or discrimination toward any individual. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies: Director of Human Resources, 109 Ferrum Mountain Road, Ferrum College, P.O. Box 1000, Ferrum, VA, 24088-9000; (540) 365-4596. Inquiries concerning the application of nondiscrimination policies may also be referred to: Washington DC (Metro), Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20202-1475; Telephone:(202) 453-6020, Fax: (202)-453-6021, TDD; (800) 877-8339. OCR encourages use of e-mail or fax to communicate with OCR whenever possible. Also, complainants may file a complaint with OCR online or by email: OCR.DC@ed.gov.

Consumer Information 

The following is a partial list of consumer information available to all students upon request: campus security report; drug and alcohol prevention information; Family Education Rights and Privacy Act provisions; drug-free workplace information; athletic participation rates and financial support data; and completion of graduation rates and transfer-out rate for the general student body. In addition, the following financial assistance information is available upon request: information concerning financial aid programs; student eligibility requirements and criteria for selecting recipients; the rights and responsibilities of students receiving aid; cost-of-attendance information; a complete statement of the school's refund policy including examples of the application of the refund policy; and information concerning the eligibility of students for financial aid funds for study-abroad programs approved for credit by Ferrum College.

Ferrum College Catalog 2014 - 2015

Download a PDF copy of the catalog »

Accreditation

Ferrum College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges or SACSCOC (formerly Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) to award baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, or call 404-679-4500, for questions about the accreditation of Ferrum College.

Ferrum College is accredited by the University Senate of The United Methodist Church and is a member of the National Association of Schools and Colleges of the United Methodist Church.

The social work program receives accreditation visits from its national professional organization, and the teacher education program is regularly evaluated and approved by the Department of Education of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Ferrum College also holds membership in:

  • Appalachian College Association
  • The College Board
  • Council of Independent Colleges
  • Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia
  • Council on Undergraduate Research
  • National Collegiate Athletics Association
  • National Collegiate Honors Council
  • The Virginia College Fund

Mailing Address and Telephone

Ferrum College, P.O. Box 1000, Ferrum, VA 24088-9000
(540) 365-2121 TDD# (540) 365-4614
website: http://www.ferrum.edu
Please direct all questions relating to currently enrolled students to the Academic Resources Center: (540) 365-4529.


Academic Calendar 2014 - 2015 

Fall Semester 2014

Classes begin

Monday, September 1

Last Day to Add Classes

Friday, September 5

Last Day to Drop  ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Friday, September 12

Last Day to Drop w/o Penalty

Friday, September 26

Last Day of First ½ Semester Classes               

Wednesday, October 15

Mid-term Grades Due

Wednesday, October 15,  5 PM

Fall Break

Thursday, October 16 – Sunday, October 19

Classes resume

Monday, October 20

First Day of Second ½ Semester Classes

Monday, October 20

Last Day to Add ½ Semester Classes

Friday, October 24

Last Day to Drop  ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Friday, October 31

Last Day to Drop with a WP/WF

Tuesday, November 11

Thanksgiving Break

Saturday, November 22– Sunday, November 30
(begins after last class Friday, November 21)

Classes resume    

Monday, December 1

Monday, December 8

Follow Friday's Schedule

Last day of classes

Tuesday, December 9, Follow Thursday Schedule

Reading Day(English 101 Exams)

TBA

Exam period

TBA

Grades due

TBA

Spring Semester 2015

 

Classes begin

Monday, January 12

Last Day to Add Classes & E-term

Friday, January 16

Martin Luther King Holiday programs

Monday, January 19
(classes follow Compressed schedule)

Last Day to Drop ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Friday, January 23

Assessment Day

Friday, February 6
(classes follow Compressed schedule)

Last Day to Drop w/o Penalty

Friday, February 6

Last day to drop an E-term class w/o fee obligation

Friday, February 6

End of First ½ Semester Classes

Friday, February 27

Mid-term Grades Due

Friday, February 27   5PM

Spring Break

Saturday, February 28-Sunday, March 8
(begins after last class Friday, February 27)

Classes resume

Monday, March 9

First Day of Second ½ Semester Classes

Monday, March 9

Last Day to Drop  ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Friday, March 20

Last Day to Drop Classes with a WP/WF

Friday, March 27

Easter Break

Friday, April 3 – Monday, April 6
(begins after last class Thursday, April 2)

Classes resume

Tuesday, April 7

Last day of class   

Friday, April 24

Exam period

TBA

Grades due

TBA

Baccalaureate

TBA

Commencement

TBA

Three-Week Term

 

Check in for E-term

Monday , May 11

Classes begin

Tuesday, May 12

Last day of classes

Friday, May 29

Grades Due

Tuesday, June 2  Noon