test

2012-2013 Catalog

An Invitation 

Students, parents, alumni and friends are cordially invited to visit the campus. Visitors should come to Spilman-Daniel House (see map, inside back cover) for information and assistance. The Admissions Staff are available from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays and, by appointment, from 9 a.m. to 12 noon on Saturday during the academic year, except during holiday weekends. Admissions personnel are available other times by appointment. For further information or to make an appointment, write: Dean of Admissions, Spilman-Daniel House, Ferrum College, 
P.O. Box 1000, Ferrum, VA, 24088-9000. 

Telephone: (540) 365-4290 | Toll Free: 1-800-868-9797 | admission@ferrum.edu 

Ferrum College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran status, gender, sex, disability, or any other protected status in admission to, access to, treatment in or employment in its programs and activities. Ferrum College affirms the dignity and worth of every individual regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity and will not tolerate harassment or discrimination toward any individual. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies: Director of Human Resources, John Wesley Hall 208, Ferrum College, P.O. Box 1000, Ferrum, VA, 24088-9000; (540) 365-4235. Inquiries concerning the application of nondiscrimination policies may also be referred to: Office for Civil Rights, D.C., U.S. Department of Education, P.O. Box 14620, Washington, D.C. 20044; (202) 208-2545, TDD; (202) 208-7797. OCR encourages use of e-mail or fax to communicate with OCR whenever possible. Also, complainants may file a complaint with OCR online or by email (ocr@ed.gov). 

Consumer Information 

The following is a partial list of consumer information available to all students upon request: campus security report; drug and alcohol prevention information; Family Education Rights and Privacy Act provisions; drug-free workplace information; athletic participation rates and financial support data; and completion of graduation rates and transfer-out rate for the general student body. In addition, the following financial assistance information is available upon request: information concerning financial aid programs; student eligibility requirements and criteria for selecting recipients; the rights and responsibilities of students receiving aid; cost-of-attendance information; and a complete statement of the school’s refund policy including examples of the application of the refund policy; and information concerning the eligibility of students for financial aid funds for study-abroad programs approved for credit by Ferrum College.

Ferrum College Catalog 2012 - 2013

Download a PDF copy of the catalog »

Accreditation

Ferrum College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award baccalaureate degrees.  Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia  30033-4097, or call 404-679-4500, for questions about the accreditation of Ferrum College.

Ferrum College is accredited by the University Senate of The United Methodist Church and is a member of the National Association of Schools and Colleges of the United Methodist Church.

The social work program receives accreditation visits from its national professional organization, and the teacher education program is regularly evaluated and approved by the Department of Education of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Ferrum College also holds membership in:

  • Appalachian College Association
  • The College Board
  • Council of Independent Colleges
  • Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia
  • Council on Undergraduate Research
  • National Collegiate Athletics Association
  • National Collegiate Honors Council
  • The Virginia College Fund

Mailing Address and Telephone

Ferrum College, P.O. Box 1000, Ferrum, VA 24088-9000
(540) 365-2121  TDD# (540) 365-4614
website: http://www.ferrum.edu

Please direct all questions relating to currently enrolled students to the Academic Resources Center: (540) 365-4529.

Academic Calendar 2012-2013 

Fall Semester 2012

Classes begin

Monday, September 3

Last Day to Add Classes

Friday, September 7

Last Day to Drop  ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Friday, September 14

Last Day to Drop w/o Penalty

Friday, September 28

Last Day of First ½ Semester Classes               

Wednesday, October 17

Mid-term Grades Due

Wednesday, October 17,  5 PM

Fall Break

Thursday, October 18 – Sunday, October 21  

Classes resume

Monday, October 22

First Day of Second ½ Semester Classes

Monday, October 22

Last Day to Add ½ Semester Classes

Friday, October 26

Last Day to Drop  ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Friday, November 2

Last Day to Drop with a WP/WF

Tuesday, November 13

Thanksgiving Break

Saturday, November 17 – Sunday, November 25
(begins after last class Friday, November 16)

Classes resume    

Monday, November 26

Monday, December 10

Follow Friday’s schedule

Last day of classes

Tuesday, December 11,  Follow Thursday’s Schedule

Reading Day(English 101 Exams)

Wednesday, December 12

Exam period

Wednesday, December 12 – Monday, December 17

Grades due

Tuesday, December 18, Noon

Spring Semester 2013

 

Classes begin

Monday, January 7

Last Day to Add Classes & E-term

Friday, January 11

Martin Luther King Holiday programs

Monday, January 21
classes follow Compressed schedule)

Last Day to Drop ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Tuesday, January 22

Last Day to Drop w/o Penalty

Tuesday, February 5

Last day to drop an E-term class w/o fee obligation

Tuesday, February 5

Assessment Day

Friday,  February 8
(Classes follow Delayed Schedule) 

End of First ½ Semester Classes

Friday, February 22

Mid-term Grades Due

Friday, February 22   5PM

Spring Break

Saturday, February 23-Sunday, March 3
(begins after last class Friday, February 22)

Classes resume

Monday, March 4

First Day of Second ½ Semester Classes

Monday, March 4

Last Day to Drop  ½ Semester w/o Penalty

Friday, March 15

Registration

Monday, March 25-Wednesday, March 27

Last Day to Drop Classes with a WP/WF

Tuesday, March 26

Easter Break

Friday, March 29 – Monday, April 1
(begins after last class Thursday, March 28)

Classes resume

Tuesday, April 2

Last week of classes will follow normal schedule except Wednesday night class will be a Monday night class.

 

Last day of class   

Friday, April 19

Exam period

Monday, April 22 – Friday, April 26

Grades due

Monday, April 29

Baccalaureate

Friday, May 3

Commencement

Saturday, May 4

Three-Week Term

 

Check in for E-term

Monday , May 6

Classes begin

Tuesday, May 7

Last day of classes

Friday, May 24

Grades Due

Tuesday, May 28   Noon