Board of Trustees

Sam Lionberger

Members of the Ferrum College Board of Trustees (BOT) are volunteers who are qualified to serve by virtue of their achievements, scholarship, business-related experience and/or United Methodist Church association. They are appointed to direct the policies and retain senior management personnel of the College.

As a group the BOT is liable for the financial and other consequences of the College's activities.

Pictured: Sam Lionberger, Chair of the Ferrum College Board of Trustees

Board Member Responsibilities

  • Know the mission and purpose of the organization− Serve four-year terms, making meeting attendance and participation a high priority

  • Set policies, approve the operating budget, and oversee its implementation

  • Participate in strategic planning and committee assignments

  • Ensure the legal and ethical integrity of the organization

  • Select, support and evaluate the performance of the president

  • Make an annual financial commitment to the College at a level consistent with ability to give, and provide fund raising contacts to outside funding sources

  • Monitor and strengthen the College’s programs and services

  • Enhance the public standing of Ferrum College by being an advocate and spokesperson

Board Members

Officers and Executive Committee

  • Mr. Samuel L. Lionberger, Jr., Chair of the Board,Virginia

  • Mr. Harry G. Norris, First Vice Chair, Virginia

  • Mr. Glenn F. Thomsen, Second Vice Chair, Kentucky

  • Mrs. Lou C. Talbott, Secretary, Virginia

  • Mr. S. Kelly Herrick ’84, Chair, Academic Affairs Committee & Immediate Past Board Chair, California

  • Mrs. Phyllis Quinn Karavatakis ’76, Chair, Audit Committee, Virginia

  • Mrs. Betty J. Forbes, Chair, Business Affairs Committee, Virginia

  • Mr. Robert W. Todd ’67, Chair, Institutional Advancement Committee & Chair, Centennial Campaign, Virginia

  • Mr. Walter C. Ayers ’62, Chair, Investment Committee, Virginia

  • Mr. Don L. Wilson ’68, Chair, Student Affairs Committee, Virginia

  • Dr. Marvin M. Phaup, Jr., Member-at-Large, Washington, DC

  • Mr. Aubrey L. Mason ’70, Member-at-Large, Virginia


  • Mr. Raymond A. Booth, Virginia

  • Mr. Harvey D. Brookins,Virginia

  • Mr. W. Clay Campbell, Virginia

  • Bishop Young Jin Cho, Virginia

  • Mr. Oden L. Cornwell, III ’02, Virginia

  • Mr. John Cougill ’69, Virginia

  • Mr. Kenneth M. Gassman, Jr., Virginia

  • Dr. Elizabeth M. Hairfield, Virginia

  • Mrs. Olivia T. Hinton, Virginia

  • Rev. Dr. Janine W. Howard, Virginia

  • Rev. Elizabeth H. Lazenby, Virginia

  • Dr. Esther G. Mabry, Virginia

  • Mrs. Annita Nelson, Virginia

  • Mr. Baxter F. Phillips, Jr. ’66, Virginia

  • Dr. D. Scott Showalter '73, North Carolina

  • Mrs. Irma Smart, Virginia

  • Mrs. Carolyn Smith, Virginia

  • Rev. Kathleen Overby Webster, Virginia

  • Mr. Martin Williams '73, Virginia

  • Mrs. Joyce C. Winston, Virginia

Trustees Emeriti

  • Mr. William B. Bales, Virginia

  • Mr. Maury Carter, Florida

  • Mrs. Patricia O. Compton, Virginia

  • Mr. Robert A. Cox, Jr., Virginia

  • Mr. C. Henry Jones, Virginia

  • Mr. Sid D. Mason, Virginia

  • Dr. M. Douglas Newman ’42, Virginia

  • Mrs. Ida B. Powell, Virginia