Board of Trustees

Sam Lionberger

Members of the Ferrum College Board of Trustees (BOT) are comprised of volunteers who are qualified to serve by virtue of their achievements, scholarship, business-related experience or United Methodist Church association. They are appointed to direct the policies and retain senior management personnel of the College. 

As a group the BOT is liable for the financial and other consequences of the College's activities. 

Pictured: Sam Lionberger, Chair of the Ferrum College Board of Trustees

Board Member Responsibilities

  • Know the mission and purpose of the organization− Serve four-year terms, making meeting attendance and participation a high priority

  • Set policies, approve the operating budget, and oversee its implementation

  • Participate in strategic planning and committee assignments

  • Ensure the legal and ethical integrity of the organization

  • Select, support and evaluate the performance of the president

  • Make an annual financial commitment to the College at a level consistent with ability to give, and provide fund raising contacts to outside funding sources

  • Monitor and strengthen the College’s programs and services

  • Enhance the public standing of Ferrum College by being an advocate and spokesperson


Board Members

Officers and Executive Committee

  • Mr. Samuel L. Lionberger, Jr.m, Chairman of the Board, Penhook, Virginia

  • Mr. Harry G. Norris, First Vice Chair, Roanoke, Virginia

  • Mr. Glenn F. Thomsen, Second Vice Chair, Lexington, Kentucky

  • Mrs. Thelma B. Crowder, Secretary, Virginia

  • Mr. S. Kelly Herrick ’84, Chair, Academic Affairs Committee & Immediate Past Board Chair, Danville, California

  • Mrs. Phyllis Quinn Karavatakis ’76, Chair, Audit Committee, Union Hall, Virginia

  • Mrs. Betty J. Forbes, Chair, Business Affairs Committee, Chester, Virginia

  • Mr. Robert W. Todd ’67, Chair, Institutional Advancement Committee & Chair, Centennial Campaign, Williamsburg, Virginia

  • Mr. Walter C. Ayers ’62, Chair, Investment Committee, Stuart, Virginia

  • Mr. Don L. Wilson ’68, Chair, Student Affairs Committee, Glen Allen, Virginia

  • Mr. Ronald L. Willard, Sr., Member-at-Large, Wirtz, Virginia

  • Mr. Aubrey L. Mason ’70, Member-at-Large, Lynchburg, Virginia


  • Mr. Walter C. Ayers ’62, Stuart, Virginia

  • Mr. Raymond A. Booth, Lynchburg, Virginia

  • Mr. Harvey D. Brookins, Roanoke, Virginia

  • Mr. W. Clay Campbell, Martinsville, Virginia

  • Bishop Young Jin Cho, Glen Allen, Virginia

  • Mr. Oden L. Cornwell, III ’02, Boones Mill, Virginia

  • Ms. Ernestine Dunnings, Staunton, Virginia

  • Mr. Kenneth M. Gassman, Jr., Glen Allen, Virginia

  • Dr. Elizabeth M. Hairfield, Staunton, Virginia

  • Mrs. Olivia T. Hinton, Portsmouth, Virginia

  • Rev. Dr. Janine W. Howard, Martinsville, Virginia

  • Rev. Elizabeth H. Lazenby, Rocky Mount, Virginia

  • Dr. Esther G. Mabry, Roanoke, Virginia

  • Dr. Marvin M. Phaup, Jr., Washington, D.C.

  • Mr. Baxter F. Phillips, Jr. ’66, Manakin Sabot, Virginia

  • Mrs. Lou C. Talbutt, Blacksburg, Virginia

  • Rev. Kathleen Overby Webster, Roanoke, Virginia

  • Mrs. Joyce C. Winston, Hampton, Virginia


Trustees Emeriti

  • Mr. William B. Bales, Williamsburg, Virginia

  • Ms. Ethel Wolfe Born, Salem, Virginia

  • Mrs. Patricia O. Compton, Richmond, Virginia

  • Mr. Robert A. Cox, Jr., Richmond, Virginia

  • Mrs. Ethelyne F. Daniel ’43, Danville, Virginia

  • Mr. C. Henry Jones, Norfolk, Virginia

  • Mr. Sid D. Mason, Rocky Mount, Virginia

  • Dr. M. Douglas Newman ’42, Newport News, Virginia

  • Mrs. Ida B. Powell, Lynchburg, Virginia